The DICT Development Group

Search for:
Search type:

Database copyright information
Server information

2 definitions found
 for United States of America
From WordNet (r) 3.0 (2006) :

  United States of America
      n 1: North American republic containing 50 states - 48
           conterminous states in North America plus Alaska in
           northwest North America and the Hawaiian Islands in the
           Pacific Ocean; achieved independence in 1776 [syn: United
           States, United States of America, America, the
           States, US, U.S., USA, U.S.A.]

From Bouvier's Law Dictionary, Revised 6th Ed (1856) :

  UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. The name of this country. The United States, now 
  thirty-one in number, are Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, 
  Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, 
  Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, 
  New York North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, 
  Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, and California. 
       2. The territory of which these states are composed was at one time 
  dependent generally on the crown of Great Britain, though governed by the 
  local legislatures of the country. It is not within the plan of this work to 
  give a history of the colonies; on this subject the reader is referred to 
  Kent's Com. sect. 10; Story on the Constitution, Book 1; 8 Wheat. Rep. 543; 
  Marshall, Hist. Colon. 
       3. The neglect of the British government to redress grievances which 
  had been felt by the people, induced the colonies to form a closer connexion 
  than their former isolated state, in the hopes that by a union they might 
  procure what they had separately endeavored in vain, to obtain. In 1774, 
  Massachusetts recommended that a congress of the colonies should be 
  assembled to deliberate upon the state of public affairs; and on the fourth 
  of September of the following year, the delegates to such a congress 
  assembled in Philadelphia. Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, 
  New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode 
  Island, South Carolina, and Virginia, were represented by their delegates; 
  Georgia alone was not represented. This congress, thus organized, exercised 
  de facto and de jure, a sovereign authority, not as the delegated agents of 
  the governments de facto of the colonies, but in virtue of the original 
  powers derived from the people. This, which was called the revolutionary 
  government, terminated only when superseded by the confederated government 
  under the articles of confederation, ratified in 1781. Serg. on the Const. 
  Intr. 7, 8. 
       4. The state of alarm and danger in which the colonies then stood 
  induced the formation of a second congress. The delegates, representing all 
  the states, met in May, 1775. This congress put the country in a state of 
  defence, and made provisions for carrying on the war with the mother 
  country; and for the internal regulations of which they were then in need; 
  and on the fourth day of July, 1776, adopted and issued the Declaration of 
  Independence. (q.v.) The articles of confederation, (q.v.) adopted on the 
  first day of March, 1781, 1 Story on the Const. Sec. 225; 1 Kent's Comm. 
  211, continued in force until the first Wednesday in March, 1789, when the 
  present constitution was adopted. 5 Wheat. 420. 
       5. The United States of America are a corporation endowed with the 
  capacity to sue and be sued, to convey and receive property. 1 Marsh. Dec. 
  177, 181. But it is proper to observe that no suit can be brought against 
  the United States without authority of law. 
       6. The states, individually, retain all the powers which they possessed 
  at the formation of the constitution, and which have not been given to 
  congress. (q.v.) 
       7. Besides the states which are above enumerated, there are various 
  territories, (q.v.) which are a species of dependencies of the United 
  States. New states may be admitted by congress into this union; but no new 
  state shall be formed or erected within the jurisdiction of any other state, 
  nor any state be formed by the junction of two or more states, or parts of 
  states, without the consent of the legislatures of the states concerned, as 
  well as of congress. Const. art. 4, s. 3. And the United States shall 
  guaranty to every state in this union, a republican form of government. Id. 
  art. 4, s. 4. See the names of the several states; and Constitution of the 
  United States. 

Contact=webmaster@dict.org Specification=RFC 2229