The DICT Development Group

Search for:
Search type:

Database copyright information
Server information

3 definitions found
 for Hagiographa
From The Collaborative International Dictionary of English v.0.48 :

  Hagiographa \Ha`gi*og"ra*pha\ (h[a^]`g[-e]*[o^]g"r[.a]*f[.a] or
     h[=a]`j[i^]*[o^]g"r[.a]*f[.a]), n. pl. [L., fr. Gr.
     "agio`grafa (sc. bibli`a), fr. "agio`grafos written by
     inspiration; "a`gios sacred, holy + gra`fein to write.]
     1. The last of the three Jewish divisions of the Old
        Testament, comprising Psalms, Proverbs, Job, Canticles,
        Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, Esther, Daniel, Ezra,
        Nehemiah, and Chronicles, or that portion of the Old
        Testament not contained in the Law ({Tora) and the
        Prophets ({Nevi'im) -- it is also called in Hebrew the
        Ketuvim. Together with the Tora and Nevi'im, it
        comprises the Hebrew Bible, which is called in Hebrew the
        Tanach, a vocalization of the first letters of its three
        [1913 Webster + RP]
     2. (R. C. Ch.) The lives of the saints. --Brande & C.
        [1913 Webster]

From WordNet (r) 3.0 (2006) :

      n 1: the third of three divisions of the Hebrew Scriptures [syn:
           Hagiographa, Ketubim, Writings]

From Easton's 1897 Bible Dictionary :

     the holy writings, a term which came early into use in the
     Christian church to denote the third division of the Old
     Testament scriptures, called by the Jews Kethubim, i.e.,
     "Writings." It consisted of five books, viz., Job, Proverbs, and
     Psalms, and the two books of Chronicles. The ancient Jews
     classified their sacred books as the Law, the Prophets, and the
     Kethubim, or Writings. (See BIBLE.)
       In the New Testament (Luke 24:44) we find three corresponding
     divisions, viz., the Law, the Prophets, and the Psalms.

Contact=webmaster@dict.org Specification=RFC 2229